Saturday, November 1, 2014

CD Review: Gus G-I Am The Fire--UPDATED!!(November 1, 2014) & Expanded Edition !!Century Media Records

On November 4th there will be a digital release of the Expanded Edition of this great album, here is some information on that release.

Due out November 4th in North America **digital only**, this expanded version of ‘I Am The Fire’ includes 4 bonus tracks, in addition to the standard 12 tracks that were released earlier this year to critical acclaim. GUS G. handles all guitar, bass and keyboards on the album, and is joined by a roster of friends and guests that helped bring his vision to fruition: drummers Jeff Friedl (A PERFECT CIRCLE, PUSCIFER, DEVO) and Daniel Erlandsson (ARCH ENEMY), bassists David Ellefson (MEGADETH), Billy Sheehan (MR. BIG, DAVID LEE ROTH) and Marty O'Brien (TOMMY LEE, WE ARE THE FALLEN), and vocalists Mats Leven (CANDLEMASS, ex-YNGWIE MALMSTEEN/THERION), Blake Allison (DEVOUR THE DAY), Michael Starr (STEEL PANTHER), Alexia Rodriguez (EYES SET TO KILL), Tom S. Englund (EVERGREY), Jacob Bunton (ADLER) and Jeff Scott Soto (TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA, ex-JOURNEY). ‘I Am The Fire’ showcases a well-balanced mix of active rock, classic hard rock, traditional metal and guitar-driven instrumentals, taking listeners on a diverse journey through GUS G.'s soulful playing.

This is a no B.S. Rock 'n' Roll record that kicks some major ass for me the guitars , bass , drums and rock vocals that are classic sounding where this might be played in the 70's good old rock.


Gus G., born in Thessaloniki, Greece is a heavy metal guitarist. He currently plays with Ozzy Osbourne and his own band Firewind. He has also played in Mystic Prophecy, Nightrage, Arch Enemy and Dream Evil.

Gus G. has completed the video clip for the first single, “I Am The Fire (Feat. Devour The Day)”, off his upcoming solo album debut “I Am The Fire”, out March 17th, 2014 in Europe and March 18th, 2014 in North America via Century Media Records.

Gus G. checked in to comment about the video as follows: “Hey everybody! Check out the brand new video for "I Am The Fire"! Filmed both in Sweden and the US, this is a very different performance clip from anything else I've done in the past. Devour The Day are some of the most creative musicians I've ever worked with and Patric Ullaeus gave a very cinematic approach to the clip. I hope you dig this! Enjoy!”The US group Devour The Day, who team up with Gus G. on this remarkable track, added the following comment: “We are so honored to be a part of such a diverse and incredible record! “I Am The Fire” was an opportunity to bring so many influences and styles together with an open minded approach lyrically. "I Am The Fire" is from the perspective of passion itself and I love that. It drives us all.”
Watch the video below:

This album has some great tracks my favorites would have to "Blame it on Me", "I am the Fire" there are some great instrumental tracks as well and some musicians that add to the overall greatness of some of the tracks, this is a crisp recording all the tracks have a richness to them , it also goes without saying the guitar work is top notch.

Here is a look into the guitars he plays as well, something I am thinking of covering for more of the bands I review here as well some info on the instruments played.

Gus G. – “I Am The Fire”:

1. My Will Be Done (Feat. Mats Levén)Krux, Candlemass
2. Blame It On Me (Feat. 
Mats Levén)
3. I Am The Fire (Feat. Devour The Day)
4. Vengeance (Feat. David Ellefson)Megadeth
5. Long Way Down (Feat. Alexia Rodriguez)Eye's Set To Kill
6. Just Can’t Let Go (Feat. Jacob Bunton)Adler
7. Terrified (Feat. Billy Sheehan)Steve Vai, David Lee Roth, Mr Big
8. Eyes Wide Open (Feat. 
Mats Levén)
9. Redemption (Feat. Michael Starr)Alice in Chains
10. Summer Days (Feat. Jeff Scott Soto)Talisman, Journey
11. Dreamkeeper (Feat. Tom S. Englund)Evergrey
12. End Of The Line (Feat. 
Mats Levén)

Additional Songs for Expanded Album:
13. Hesitate(Feat Tara Teresa)
14. Without You
15. Last Embrace
16. Redemption(Feat Mats Leven)
Thank you for reading this
Anthony Nadeau

No comments: