Thursday, August 11, 2016

Beta Test Science Fiction Thriller Hits Home(Available Now)October Coast

                              Now available on DVD & VOD

Beta Test is a  decent action film with a small similarity to that of Tron(1982)just that a person from our world is trapped in the gamer's world and has to do their bidding.

Story Synopsis:
 Champion gamer Max Troy discovers events in a new video game are being mirrored in the real world, and must join forces with the game's protagonist, Orson Creed, to unravel the conspiracy before the game's sinister plot overwhelms the city.

 What we have here is Max as stated above is testing a new game where what happens in the game , happens in real life. Many are comparing this to Gamer with Gerard Butler,  I feel however this is a far better film.
Convincing actors able to pull of a film that is not original but with the effort of the entire group this makes for a good thrill ride and the fight scenes are really well choreographed near the end of the film.
 Also the images of the game play are good as well(above)our "hero" in the film Orson Creed is being controlled by a chip planted at the base of his neck (see below)
The story deepens as the men responsible for making Orson play out their wishes in the game, have a pawn if you will -they have his wife and if he does not do their bidding they will kill his wife.
Yes I know seen this so many times but this is a good action film , I really enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I may.
Action films are only as good as their villains are said a wiseman(Gene Siskel) and he was right. I have seen so many action films where the rest of the film was fine but missing that really good villain --there is one here in Kinkaid(Linden Ashby-left)
A decent story and good character development are key here and even though the payoff is what I expected I was still thrilled to see how it all turned out.

Thank you for reading this
Anthony Nadeau

Chemical Burn & Sector 5 Film Reviews: Accidental Exorcist

I have seen a lot of these types of films over the decades from The Exorcist -(still one of the scariest films ever made)to this one. The title says it all he is indeed accidental and his skills are different than any other exorcist that I have seen before.
 He is a drunk, dirty man that spends his evening in his just as filthy apartment , where he is always late on the rent.
 When he finishes the task at hand he awakens outside with an envelope full of money for his troubles , problem is it is winter at the time in which the film takes place --so he is almost frozen in some cases.
 In the darkness there is some light in the way of comedy, dark but still comedy. The man above had his jaw strapped shut and when it is removed he just clicks his jaw and is quickly asked to refrain from doing so as it is annoying.
I enjoyed this film as many modern horror films forget to do is to get your audiences attention and keep it , there are some scenes that could have been shortened or omitted from the film all together but I enjoyed it.

Thank you for reading this 
Anthony Nadeau

Upcoming Films: Rogue One-A Star Wars Story--Premieres December 16, 2016--UPDATED August 11, 2016-NEW Full Length Trailer!!

December 16, 2016 is the release date for yet another story from the Star Wars Universe. This one is years before Star Wars(1977) and has another female lead in the role and some other surprises.

                                         August 11, 2016

New awesome trailer --and a surprise at the very end of it as well!!

                         July 15, 2016
    New Behind The Scenes Trailer!! Exciting times in my books--even though I have not been a fan of the most recent films:

 The trailer debuted this morning and has already caused some early backlash on the film having yet another female lead , most fingers point to that of Kathleen Kennedy who was named President of Lucasfilm after George Lucas sold the company to Walt Disney Studios. I find it odd and sad that so much negative attention is already being given to the film on just the fact that another young woman is the lead in the film. I am not going to get my hopes up for this one as the last four Star Wars films I have not been fond of for the most part, but will see it still.
 So here is the trailer and like all the other films I will be seeing this in the theaters.

 Now for those that are skilled enough and are totally familiar with Return of the Jedi(1983)will have noticed the older woman speaking to the lead in the film whose name is Jyn "We have a mission for you" are the words spoken is none other than Mon Mothma
Seen below is the image from the new film to the left and the other from Return of the Jedi.

 So now we wait once again and see what this story brings us.

Thank you for reading this
Anthony Nadeau

Friday, August 5, 2016

Little Shop of Movies Review: Louder Than Bombs(Available Now)

The title of the film tells little about what it is really about and yet it is in the same mind exactly what it is about.

Story Synopsis:
 The fractious family of a father and his two sons confront their different feelings and memories of their deceased wife and mother, a famed war photographer.
 I found it interesting that one of the earlier scenes of the film is the image above when so much of the film deals with death and the impact that it has on others.
 The mother/wife in the film played so well by Isabelle Huppert is a photographer of war torn countries , her leaving for months and coming home is taking it's toll on her family and her marriage.
This is easily the best adult themed film about family matters I have seen since "The Squid & The Whale", also one of the best I have seen all year. 

The issues facing this family are real this is not wrapped up in a cute little Hollywood ribbon either, here we have some great seasoned actors that helped it be more believable and true.
 Gabriel Byrne(above left) is ever as fantastic in this role as he ever is, he is calm and collected nothing is overdone here--every bit has a reason for it happening it is not there to be flashy but more subjective. Scenes replay through the film as Gene(Byrne) is following Conrad(Devin Druid-above, right)home after school. A short time later we are shown the same scene from Conrad's viewpoint, very interesting I do not recall a film doing that in recent memory.
 The thing that is so great about this film is everyone here is flawed in someway as people are in the real world there are no apologies , there are arguments, and the like--but a real sense of realism if possible. Hard to describe in words how a scene can do so much, but something so many in film forget that less is more.

The car crash and scenes of her taking photos are the only real violent scenes in the entire film. There are instances where I felt I knew where the film was going to take us and then was thankful when it went the opposite direction. I applaud the writers, Director and crew for this amazing film, that those that chose to watch it will be glad they did as I was.

Thank you for reading this 
Anthony Nadeau